Instagram introduce a new feature called stories, which lets people create a slideshow format of their photos and videos. Instagram Stories is a feature that allows the user to share moments throughout their day, which will appear 24 hours after being posted. This is great for people who want to share a lot on Instagram. However, they want to avoid over sharing their followers feeds.
The stories of the people you are following will appear as a group at the top of your Instagram feed. Additionally, when you are on someone’s profile that has a current story this will be shown by a multi-coloured band around their profile picture. You can only give comment on these stories privately. Unlike regular posts, there are no likes or comments as you get with the videos or images on the main feed.
Things to keep in mind about private posts:
- Private posts you share to social media networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks.
- Once you make your posts private, people will have to send you a follow request if they want to see your posts and your followers list.
- If someone was already following before you set your posts to private and you don’t want them to see your posts, you can block them.
Anyone can view your profile and posts on Instagram if you set your setting by default. You can make your posts private so that only followers you approve can see them. If your posts are set to private, only your approved followers will see them in the Photos tab of search or on hashtag or location pages. Posts can’t be set to private from a desktop computer.
Instagram is a fun way of sharing moments through a series of pictures. Snap a photo with your mobile devices. The advantage of Instagram is like a mini blog post in itself with an awesome visual component.
You can read the full text here.